Home / Reviews / Album Reviews / Skeletonwitch “Forever Abomination”
Skeletonwitch - Forever Abomination

Skeletonwitch “Forever Abomination”

Skeletonwitch - Forever AbominationI had an old friend of mine ask me recently, “Hey what’s the metal scene like nowadays? I remember when Limp Bizkit and Korn were Gods to all of us skater kids.” I linked a Skeletonwitch video to him.

The 5-piece from Ohio has released yet another amazing album, Forever Abomination, that will keep you forever head banging and thrashing. The album from start to finish is what those guys that get into high speed car chases caught on tape listen to. This album flows so well together that I have tried to listen to just one track but end up listening to the whole damn thing. From the moment “This Horrifying Force” kicks in, I was ready for this high speed rollercoaster of thrash and pure evil.

One of my favorite tracks early on is Of Ash and Torment. The song has its typical Skeletonwitch characteristics of fast paced drums, machine gun guitars, Chance’s demonic vocals. What made it stand out for me was the rhythm parts played by Nate and Scott on guitars. Quite honestly, I feel like I’m either on my way to some crazy battle… or just sitting in my room playing Brutal Legend. Either way this track is epic as hell and I am always catching myself banging my head or pretending to kick the bass drums and it’s normally in public so it’s quite a scene.

Another instant classic is The Infernal Resurrection. If you haven’t read my review of the past Arch Enemy tour that had Skeletonwitch support, just know that they played this song live and it was probably one of the greatest songs I have ever seen performed. The band was really into it along with the constant circle pits that formed at my back. The guitar riffs were a tad different from what is “normal” from the guys. As opposed to the machine gun like guitar riffs it was a tad bit slower and had a very catchy chord progression that is guaranteed to get stuck in your head.

One of the best parts about Skeletonwitch that I find is once you start a song, you get drawn in just enough that it will all of a sudden be the next track on the album and you are then dragged into that track. Really helps listeners get stuck listening to the whole album for that first time and then they return again and again for that fix.

In Cleaver of Souls we actually get to hear a breakdown of sorts from our evil five some. My first time through with this song I actually felt like the album was about to end when I could hear the very climactic solo that is about 3 minutes in. The final note hits and slowly fades away and I started thinking about starting the album over to enjoy it again. But then I was smacked in the face by my stereo when Shredding Sacred Flesh made its explosion into my room. This track also has another awesome head banging rhythm section around one and a half minutes in that gradually works its way back up to that fast, “I feel like running in circles” tempo.

My Skin of Deceit opens up as the last track on the album that really starts off with a bang. Wasting no time at all, Dustin is beating the hell out of his drum set and Chance is right there to start off the final song on Forever Abomination. The guitar duet also show some great skill in one of the most “shred-tastic” riffs i’ve ever heard them play. Then, as quickly as they came, Chance grunts and the album ends.

Fans of Skeletonwitch won’t be let down at this fourth effort. For newcomers to this band, it’s always good to pick up earlier work from a band you have never heard. With that said, Skeletonwitch sounds the same on all of their records… goddamn amazing. Pick this album up today if you like fast and evil music that defines heavy metal.

Track Listing:

1. This Horrifying Force (The Desire to Kill)
2. Reduced to the Failure of Prayer
3. Of Ash and Torment
4. Choke Upon Betrayal
5. Erased and Forgotten
6. The Infernal Resurrection
7. Rejoice in Misery
8. Cleaver of Souls
9. Shredding Sacred Flesh
10. Sink Beneath Insanity
11. My Skin of Deceit

About ThrowinUpHorns

Check Also

96 - Caught In The Grips

96 – “Caught In The Grips”

Today is one of those days where the hardcore world can breath a sigh of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *