Home / Reviews / Album Reviews / Pestilence “Doctrine”

Pestilence “Doctrine”

Pestilence - DoctrinePestilence’s sixth studio album, “Doctrine” brings fresh blood to the tired, marginally inspired music being released around us.  Everywhere I turn, more and more metal based bands emerge.  As a result, each band starts to sound more and more like the next, leaving listeners with plenty of music to listen to, but nothing that truly grabs a hold of them and violently breaks the rules the way they secretly hope it will.  Pestilence has put together the recipe for that violent uprising of ass kicking music, and you can find it in the eleven tracks of “Doctrine”.

In reverse order analysis, the production quality of this album is far superior to anything else I have ever heard.  None of the instruments are lost in the mix, and you can distinctly feel the energy.  The tone of the bass is something to pay very close attention to.  The bass has that very distinctive “mwah” sound that can only be produced with one type of bass:  a fretless.  But that should not come as a shock from a band that is breaking out and being the leader of the pack.

The album demands your attention.  I have not turned this album off in the past 4 days, but from my experience, to truly appreciate this album, you must listen from beginning to end in its entirety.  Every song can stand on its own as a brutal example of the best out there, but the full experience is something that cannot be missed.  Pestilence, while showing its roots in thrash metal, takes the listener to the farthest edges of blistering guitar work all the way to slower, almost jazz-like interludes (not that there are many, but they do exist!).  This is not to say they completely break down their style, but rather, the slower break downs show hints of a classier genre while still maintaining their punishing image.  The best part is, Pestilence proves to you that this is not an experiment. Pestilence has proven this range of styles belong together.  The album flows naturally from lightning speed to slow and subtle, but does so without feeling rushed and without being more complex than necessary.  Even better, melody is maintained even during the most brutal moments.

Every listen brings forward more and more emotion.  I am yet to find a single bad thing about this album.  For a death metal band, even the vocals can be understood without needing the Cookie Monster as a translator.  Quite frankly, that is a rarity in this genre that solidifies why Pestilence is at the top of their game and the top of the genre.

This is an album that belongs in the collection of every metal fan out there.  Even if you think you have heard it all, you have not heard this album.  After the first listen, my mind was erased.  Everything I ever knew to be awesome sucks in comparison to this.  If I had only thirty-nine minutes to live, I would want this album to start and end those thirty-nine minutes.  Get.  This.  Album.  Now.


Track Listing:

  1. The Predication
  2. Amgod
  3. Doctrine
  4. Salvation
  5. Dissolve
  6. Absolution
  7. Sinister
  8. Divinity
  9. Deception
  10. Malignant
  11. Confusion

About G29 10MM

Check Also

96 - Caught In The Grips

96 – “Caught In The Grips”

Today is one of those days where the hardcore world can breath a sigh of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *