Home / Reviews / Album Reviews / The Showdown “Temptation Come My Way”

The Showdown “Temptation Come My Way”

The Showdown - Temptation Come My WayThe Showdown are back after their successful debut, ‘A Chorus of Obliteration’. On ‘Temptation Come My Way’ my biggest complaint, which were few and far between, was that it sounded like what Avenged Sevenfold were doing (‘Waking The Fallen’ days). However The Showdown definitely showed more promise than Avenged Sevenfold in the metal community. All that aside, ‘Temptation Come My Way’ is an album for the hard rock enthusiast.

Gone are the ways of screams, much like ‘City of Evil’ and Avenged Sevenfold. Some things do keep this band from being a direct follower of Avenged Sevenfold. One is the strong southern rock influence. Well I guess there is only that one difference. The problem I face in this review is simple: this is a great album, but I am thoroughly disappointed with it. So how can I judge an album like that?

The Showdown, in my eyes, have done completely what fans thought they were better than. That is follow in Avenged Sevenfold’s footsteps. The immense talent that this band is capable of only disappoints me more and more as I write this review and listen to the tracks. It is definitely safe to say this is an Avenged Sevenfold rip-off act now.

As great of a hard rock album as this is (consider the competition: Disturbed, Godsmack, Avenged Sevenfold) this is a let down from the previous effort. Gone are the strong influenced metal solos, gone are the blast beats. Both are replaced with a more relaxed southern feel. Like I said before, the problem isn’t that this is not a good CD but that this is not a good CD for the abilities of The Showdown.

Vocally, his voice is good. Nothing amazing, but a solid voice (I was a fan of his different screaming levels; however this has been removed from the latest effort). Songs like “Fanatics And Whores” and “Spitting In The Wind” show off some of his range; however songs like “Carry On Wayward Son” also show his limitations. Lyrically I feel this is a step down from ‘A Chorus of Obliteration’. Lyrical content is short and has less meaning than before. Lost is also the epic feel of each song as on their previous effort. Before songs had epic intros, guitar solos, outros, and more. We now receive 3-4 minute hard rock songs.

Instant stardom might await them; however I do not think they are on the right label to achieve that if that is what they are looking for. It just disappoints me to see a band in the metal community with such talent dumb down their instruments, shorten their songs, and go hard rock to sell a few albums. This album is sure to upset the fan base they have grown, however the crossover fans of them and Avenged Sevenfold will surely love this release. To me it just feels plain. I will re-iterate this though: if I were reviewing them as a Hard Rock act the overall rating would probably be much higher. However I am reviewing them for who they were, and that was a solid heavy metal band 2 years ago.

01. Fanatics And Whores
02. Head Down
03. Six Feet Under
04. We Die Young
05. Breath Of The Swamp
06. It Drinks From Me
07. Temptation Come My Way
08. Forget My Name
09. Spitting In The Wind
10. I, Victim (Here’s To The Year)
11. Carry On Wayward Son
12. Death Finds Us Breathing

About Don

Check Also

96 - Caught In The Grips

96 – “Caught In The Grips”

Today is one of those days where the hardcore world can breath a sigh of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *